Adventure News

Home > News
Saturday, 5 July 2014

Exhilarating end to four weeks of Gauteng trail running

The Spur Gauteng Winter Trail Series™ came to a fantastic conclusion on Sunday 29th June as more than 800 runners showed up to the Pelindaba Nature Reserve to take part in the final race of this year’s Series. It was one of the most successful Spur Gauteng Trail Series™ yet with every race selling out and Gauteng runners proving that trail running is alive and well on the Highveld.

The Long Course Championship was taken by Edwin Sesipi who won his third race of the Series after missing race 3. He finished the 11.3km course in a superb time of 47:53 to take the Championship title. Anita O’Brien won a tough battle for the ladies’ Championship between herself. Takalani Ndandani and Marelise Retief. She won the race in a time of 54:57 which was just enough to secure the Championship ahead of Ndandani.

In the Short Course Challenge 6.9km race Ryan Mathaba and Penny Taylor stamped their authority as both won a full house of races in this year’s Series to take the titles home. Mathaba was the only runner to break the 30 minute mark and came home in a time of 29:08. Taylor was beaten to the finish line by junior runner, Kayla Visagie but still did enough to secure the Series with a time of 35:30. Visagie’s winning time was 35:04.

The Spur Trail Series™ moves back to Cape Town now with the Spur Cape Winter Trail Series™ set to kick off on 19 July with the Spur GLB46km Ultra and the normal Long and Short Course the next day, Sunday 20 July – all at the Paul Cluver Estate in Grabouw.

A massive thanks to our loyal sponsors, Spur Steak Ranches, adidas, BOS Ice Tea, Protea Hotels and Graham Back Wines for your support. Without you none of this would be possible. And of course, to you the runners, for showing your support and growing the sport of trail running.

For a full report on the race click here. Find the full results here and more photos here.

Spur Gauteng Winter Trail Series™ Results

Long Course Championship

Open Men

1.       Edwin Sesipi

2.       Frank Kienhofer

3.       Pedro Calderon

Open Women

1.       Anita O’Brien

2.       Takalani Ndandani

3.       Marelise Retief

Veteran Men

1.       Phillipe van der Leeuw

2.       Andrew Dallas

3.       Craig Marshall

Veteran Women

1.       Lynette Uren

2.       Ashleigh de Lima

3.       Linda van der Colff

Master Men

1.       Ian Ferguson

2.       Johann Cloete

3.       Simon Yates

Master Women

1.       Angie Dawson

2.       Lynda McCurrie

3.       Lee Douglas

Short Course Challenge

Open Men

1.       Ryan Mathaba

2.       Mazu Ndandani

3.       Michael Bayes

Open Women

1.       Penny Taylor

2.       Vimbainashe Mhike

3.       Zoe Brentano

Veteran Men

1.       Peter Ypenburg

2.       Rudi Burger

3.       Garren Walker

Veteran Women

1.       Claire Schipholt

2.       Elsie Marshall

3.       Suzanne Ayres

Master Men

1.       Andrew Wynne

2.       Johnie Jonker

3.       Derek Brentano

Master Women

1.       Stephanie Walker

2.       Carol Downing

3.       Katarina Milos


1.       Cobus Nel

2.       Dale Scrutton

3.       Ernst Maritz

Minimee Boys

1.       Keegan Dally

2.       Nico Kleynhans

3.       Paul Scrutton

Minimee Girls

1.       Jessica Schmid

2.       Jade Buitendag

3.       Mia van Antwerpen


1.       Alex Wynne

2.       Jurgens Jacobs

3.       Ethan McDougall

Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 134217728 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 81 bytes) in /usr/www/users/ndorfi/wp-includes/taxonomy.php on line 3137